Speaker election 17th Bihar Legislative Assembly: NDA’s Vijay Kumar Sinha vs Opposition’s Awadh Bihari Chaudhary

Today the decision of the new assembly speaker will be done by voting

The ruling party and the opposition have come face to face over who will be the Speaker of the 17th Bihar Legislative Assembly. In the absence of consensus for this post, both alliances have fielded their respective candidates. Vijay Sinha has been nominated from NDA while Awadh Bihari Chaudhary has been nominated from Mahagathbandhan. The date of Wednesday i.e. November 25 is set by Governor Fagu Chauhan for the election of the Speaker. If the Opposition does not withdraw its nomination till the House begins on Wednesday, the vote will decide the new Speaker of the Assembly.

On Tuesday, at 10.40 am before the session, NDA MLAs submitted nomination papers in 11 sets for the candidature of BJP MLA Vijay Kumar Sinha for the post of Assembly Speaker. The proponents of 11 forms submitted for Mr. Sinha before Vis Secretary Rajkumar Singh are Nitin Naveen, Sanjay Saravagi, Vidyasagar Kesari, Rampravesh Rai, Vinod Narayan Jha, Rana Randhir, Vijay Kumar Mandal, Krishna Kumar Rishi, Swarna Singh, Shravan Kumar and Anil Kumar

Lalu trying to break NDA by calling legislators, alleges Sushil Modi

At the same time, nomination was filed in five sets in the presence of Leader of the Opposition Tejashwi Yadav in favor of the Grand Alliance candidate for the post of Vis President, Awadh Bihari Chaudhary. Proposers to make Mr. Chaudhary the chairman include Ajit Sharma, Ram Ratan Singh, Anil Kumar Sahni, Akhtarul Islam Shaheen and Kumar Sarvajit.

Elections will be postponed only if consensus is reached

The election in the House is scheduled on Wednesday after nominations from both sides for the post of Vis. However, if consensus is reached, any party can withdraw its proposal before the commencement of voting. According to the information, after the announcement of the election by the Protem Speaker, the proposal of election will be presented in the House. If the proposals of two candidates come there also, the speaker will decide by voice vote or division of votes.

Arithmetic in favor of NDA

The odds of winning the post of president are in favor of NDA. Both constituents are keen to prevent the spillover of votes during the voting. A strategy was chalked out on Tuesday from both the sides and the constituents have also issued whip. Only independent Sumit Kumar Singh and a LJP MLA are also likely to get the BJP candidate’s vote.

Tejashwi took command in the grand alliance, strategy kept going from morning to night

AIMIM state president cum MLA Akhtarul Iman said that on behalf of his party, the NDA and the Grand Alliance have unanimously suggested to elect the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the Legislative Assembly. Conflict and voting on every issue in the House is not right. Till Wednesday, efforts will be made to become unanimous instead of contesting the post of president. If our coalition parties meet now, then the strategy will be decided further. BSP’s only MLA, Jamah Khan, has also unanimously advocated the Speaker.

The office of the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly is very important. Avadh Bihari Chaudhary has the ability to run the house with everyone. The Grand Alliance unanimously nominated him as the candidate. Expect cooperation from other members as well and win confidence.

Tejaswi Prasad Yadav, Leader, RJD Legislature Party and Grand Alliance

The opposition should also cooperate with the post of the Speaker of the Assembly. So far there has been a similar practice. The NDA candidate’s victory in this election is certain. The reality of the grand alliance claims will also be revealed on Wednesday.

  • Prem Kumar, former minister and senior BJP leader

History will repeat again after 51 years, Bihar Assembly will be witness for the third time for the election of President

Awadh Bihari has been a minister in the Lalu-Rabri governmentIn the presidential election, Mahagathbandhan candidate Awadh Bihari Chaudhary has reached the house for the fifth time from Siwan. He defeated former MP and BJP candidate Om Prakash Yadav. He first won from the Janata Party headed by Chandrasekhar in 1985. In the years 1990 and 1995, he won on Janata Dal ticket and became a minister in the Lalu government.

In 2000, RJD won as a candidate. He served as a minister in the Lalu and Rabri governments from 1990 to 2005. He lost the 2005 election. He moved to JDU before the Lok Sabha elections in 2014 and returned to RJD again in 2017. He was then made the chairman of the RJD’s state parliamentary board. He is still in this position.


BJP: 74

JDU: 43

Us: 04

VIP: 04

Total: 125

Grand Alliance

RJD: 75

Congress: 19

Male: 12

CPI-M: 02

CPI: 02

Total: 110



BSP: 1

Independents: 01

LJP: 1

VIS president’s decision twice before election

  1. 26 March 1967 – Dhanik Lal Mandal won

  2. March 11, 1969 – Ram Narayan Mandal won





Leave a Reply